Spoon

“Spoon”

“Spoon” by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and illustrated by Scott Magoon is a story about a spoon wishing he lived the life of his friends, Chopsticks, Knife, and Fork. The spoon starts out feeling unhappy with his life and starts envying his friends, but then the readers find out that his friends were also jealous of how Spoon lived. The story ended with Spoon’s mother telling Spoon how lucky he was. I say this for almost every story, but I liked it. I really liked the little jokes in story, and I generally like it when books incorporate puns. I think that the moral of this story is to be grateful for what you have, and not waste so much time on wishing you had a life you didn’t. Personally, I can relate to this a bit because whenever I see somebody on vacation, or maybe with something I really like whether its on Instagram, or even YouTube, I’d start thinking “wow they’re so lucky.” Envying people probably isn’t a great habit to have since you’d start forgetting or looking past some of the things you have going good in your own life. People should be thankful for the opportunities or things that they have, because there are probably people out there who won’t get a chance to experience them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *